Speaking. Thankfulness. The Journey.

29 Nov

Hello Sweet Friends!

Thanks for stopping by my blog today.  I trust that you all had a great Thanksgiving and I pray that you got the chance to soak in some rest, some family time and some delicious food!  I’m sorry this blog is long overdue, but it has been a packed few weeks to say the least.

As many of you know, we spoke for the first time on Kingston’s story just over a month ago.  It was part of a series at our church called Plan B.  We had previous invitations to speak that we just never felt quite ready for, and I’m glad the first time we decided to go for it was among this beautiful body of Christ followers.  It felt like home, and that is exactly what I needed to feel as I grabbed the microphone that morning.  A big thank you to our pastors and to our Hope family!  The way you believe in us and in our dreams is incredible.  Know that we treasure all of you.    

The days leading up to the service were quite an adventure.  I’ll spare you the details, but let’s just say they were marked with fevers, a bout with bronchitis, sinus infections, car troubles, financial issues, a fainting episode and a trip to the ER… oh my. 

In spite of all of that, I’m quite happy to report that it was by far one of the most amazing experiences of our life.  I think sometimes God reduces us of all of our strength so that we know when something happens… it has nothing to do with our abilities and everything to do with who He is in us.  The service was more than I could have ever hoped for and I truly felt profoundly honored to be Kingston’s mommy that day.  To tell Kingston’s beautiful story… our story… the story of the redemptive work of my King… was something I’ve long been dreaming about and it was so impacting to my own heart to see it come to fruition.

I’m truly humbled by all that God did that day, and I continue to be overwhelmed several times a week by the incredible testimonies I am receiving from people, both near and far, that are being impacted by my sweet little man’s life.  To God by the glory.  He truly is so sovereign and as I sit here today, fresh out of the Thanksgiving shuffle from last week, I can say I have a deeper understanding of thankfulnessYet again, another gift that the blessing of my son and the blessing of even his death has brought into my life.  With all of me, I still wish it was different.  I still wish that God had answered differently that day in the hospital.  I still long for him to be here with us instead.  However, this work that the Lord is doing is beautiful too.  In my strongest moments, I think it might even be more beautiful due to the ash it is rising from.  Indeed… I am thankful.

Without further ado, below are a few links capturing the service.  There are 7 total!  Yes, I said 7.  Don’t hate. It’s a spiritual number right?!?!  The first two are videos done by the amazing Oliver Ortiz that we showed to start out the message.  Numbers 3-7 are links to videos of the actual message.  At the very end is a link to a photo gallery of the service.  James and Elaine did these photos.  They have blessed us in more ways than we can count throughout this process and the way they captured this day is just a continuation of that.  Their friendship is a gift to us in so many ways- so, thank you James & Elaine! 

          Kingston’s Story- Part 1 (video)

          Kingston’s Story- Part 2 (video)

          Kingston’s Story- Part 3 (message)

          Kingston’s Story- Part 4 (message)

          Kingston’s Story- Part 5 (message)

          Kingston’s Story- Part 6 (message)

          Kingston’s Story- Part 7 (message)

          Photos from the service

The first two videos take about 15 minutes and the rest are probably 20-30 minutes combined.  If you’ve got some time to enjoy them this week or over the coming weeks, I’d love it if you would do so and I would LOVE to hear your feedback.  I’ve also gotten many requests for the links so that you all could send them to your friends and family members… I’m so honored that you think our story will bless them.  Seriously!!! By all means, please forward away and let me know if you have any problems or need different formats!  I pray God touches them through it.

Justin and I are continually thankful to all of those both near and far who choose to walk this journey with us, even in all of its brokenness.  You are part of the beauty that God is raising up from the brokenness and we love you.  For coming to the service, for supporting us, for praying and even just for taking the time to read here today… thank you.  Next Tuesday, December 6th marks Kingston’s first birthday.  I’m hoping to update a little more on this in the next few days if I can muster up the gumption to do so, but for now, I’ll just say that Justin and I would love your prayers as that time approaches.  Obviously, there are many lovely, yet messy emotions to sort through as we continue on this journey.

Praying that true thankfulness abounds in your hearts during this season!  May you treasure all of the beautiful moments (even the beautifully broken ones) and see the work of our Jesus in your lives.  Here’s to slowing down, and to being thankful in and out of season… and here’s to the journey.

All My Love,

Suz

4 Responses to “Speaking. Thankfulness. The Journey.”

  1. Peggy November 30, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    Very beautiful! Thank you for sharing! Can’t wait to watch part 2 after the link is fixed!

  2. Jessica December 4, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    You and your husband are truly amazing people..i know i’m so sorry for your loss doesn’t begin to cover it, but you guys are really turning this into something positive. I can’t even imagine how this all must feel but you’re such a strong person and you truly are helping people in more ways than you know. I cried my eyes out listening to your story, but it is a fear that all pregnant women have, well i think any pre-parent has. A child is a precious gift, and you two seem to deserve it more than anyone I know and I can’t wait until it is your time again.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Letter to Kingston. « - December 5, 2011

    […] videos of the service where we first spoke on Kingston’s story, you can link back and do so by clicking here at any […]

  2. Thankfulness and Missing- Remember Kingston’s 2nd Birthday « - December 6, 2012

    […] Blog with links to videos of the first time we spoke about his story […]

Leave a Reply

